The Stephan Archives will be adding approximately two linear feet of recently cleaned documents to the existing collection of Head Master McPherson papers (DC034). Though the Archives acquired the papers decades ago, poor condition resulted in their separation from the rest of the collection. They were set aside and left unsubscribed until funding could be secured for proper cleaning. Fortunately, a portion of Dr. John Stephan L. 1959 and Bobby Stephan’s generous gift was dedicated strictly for conservation work. This provided the Archives with the means to hire Belfor Restoration to properly clean the materials. The integration of these papers into the current Head Master McPherson collection will fill in the many gaps that exist in the current sermons and addresses series.
Though the bulk of the papers consist of numbered sermons and addresses both handwritten and printed, some documents pertaining to Davis House are also included. The Davis House material was likely created and maintained by Assistant Head Master and master of Davis House Charles Henry Raymond. The fact that the sermons and the Davis House material were stored together may be an indication that Charles Henry Raymond was in fact the collector and original arranger of the Head Master McPherson sermon collection.
This new accession is currently being arranged and described. Expect it to be open for research use within the next month!
The Lawrence, May 16, 2003
The Lawrence, April 20, 1956
The Lawrence, March 30, 2007
Coming to campus on Alumni Weekend, May 1-3, 2014? Check out what is going on in the Stephan Archives as part of your visit!
In the Bunn Library
Lawrenceville Lux Mentis Lux Orbis
From the Lamp of Knowledge in our School Seal to the solar energy which fuels our core campus, fire continually influences life at Lawrenceville! Join your classmates in The Stephan Archives to explore the School’s historic relationship with this element and view never-before-seen artifacts. Lawrenceville Lux Mentis Lux Orbis is on display in the Archives Reading Room during regular library hours beginning on May 2, 2014.
Life in Old Lower
Due to popular demand, the Life in Old Lower exhibit, first displayed during Alumni Weekend 2011, will be on display again in the Bunn Library for Alumni Weekend 2014. The exhibit features a life-size reconstructed Old Lower cubicle, decorated as it would have been in 1965. Located in the Main Lobby of the Bunn Library. For more background on how the exhibit was designed and implemented, check out this Fall 2011 Lawrentian article on Old Lower.
School Presidents of the Major Reunion Years
In the Fathers Building
Through the Lens: The Photography of Edward Arthur Robbins H’68 ’69 ’71 ’11
The Stephan Archives staff worked in tandem with the Office of the CFO to showcase photographic highlights from retired Classics Master Ed Robbins’ portfolio in Through the Lens: The Photography of Edward Arthur Robbins H’68 ’69 ’71 ’11 for the dedication of the renovated Fathers Building. Travel enthusiasts will be delighted to see 78 enlarged full-color images mounted on the first and second floor of the building which feature contemporary scenes from Robbins’ ventures to Argentina, Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, England, France, the Galapagos Islands, India, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Russia, Vietnam, and the United States. The Stephan Archives has accessioned a complete copy of Robbins’ portfolio for researchers which, along with the exhibit, can be accessed by the community during regular school hours.
Historic Walking Tour and Archives Open House
Join Archivist Jacqueline Haun on a walking tour of the historic Lawrenceville School campus. The walking tour will be followed by an opportunity to see the archives storage and exhibit spaces. This event will take place on Saturday, May 3, from 2-4 p.m. While visiting the Stephan Archives, check out our demo of the newly digitized Lawrenceville Alumni Bulletin. Our digital archives can be accessed from any computer with an internet connection at digitalarchives.lawrenceville.org.
In honor of Alumni Weekend. The Lawrentian, July 1983